blog · blogposts · one word prompt

‘She was avid for information.’

The title of this post might seem a little bit weird to you and I have to admit that it is. It does not really say what this blog is about and that may just be my reason to pick that title. I hope that it awakens your interest to read the rest of my blog.
Today, I am writing a post on the daily one-word prompt ‘avid’. This ”daily prompt’ is held by The Daily Post.
You get a one-word daily prompt and you simply write a post about it.
So today I thought: “Make it so!” (Does anyone here know Captain Picard from Star trek? I love that show. Let me know if you do and also when you would like me to make a post about star trek sometime) and here I am writing a post about the word ‘avid’.

At first, I did not really know what it meant so I looked it up in the online version of the Oxford English Dictionary and within seconds I got its definition, origin and pronunciation.
It said that ‘avid’ means: ‘Having or showing a keen interest in or enthusiasm for something.’ So, I can say that I am and avid writer of blogs since I started a few days back.
Now, I can hear you think: ‘but, why did she pick that title then?.’ Well, when I read today’s one-word daily prompt I got curious as to what the word meant and I was very avid  for information. I got avid for information on what the word meant and how the daily prompts challenge works.
Furthermore, the word origins from the mid 18th century: from French avide or Latin avidus, from avere ‘crave’. And for the readers who know phonology this is the way it is pronounced:
/ˈavɪd/.
Well, I hope you learned something out of this and I hope that it broadened your vocabulary. I certainly liked putting some of my thoughts about today’s daily prompt down for you guys.

Have you ever written a daily prompts post? Post a link down below in the comments, I am happy to read them and see what you guys write about. I might learn something from it!
What did you think of this post? Let me know down below (Hey, that rhymes) so I can write about other subjects if you did not like this one, or write more blogs like this if you liked it.

Follow me on Instagram, Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest to see more of my art. Follow my Blog if you have a wordpress account or leave your e-mail address behind to never miss a post!

Thank you so much for reading, I really appreciate it.

Have a nice day and lots of love,

SweetHandlettering

2 thoughts on “‘She was avid for information.’

Leave a Reply

