blog · blogposts · one word prompt

Gloria Vanderbilt

Yes, I can already hear your brains going: ‘who is Gloria Vanderbilt and why does she write a post about this lady?’.
Well, some of you might know the perfume which carries her name and today’s one-word prompt is Perfume so I instantly thought of my own favourite perfume which happens to be that perfume.

If you want to read other daily prompts I wrote you can go Here.

My grandmother wears the same perfume and as far as I know, she has always worn the same perfume and every year with Christmas, we buy her the same one. Now,why would I want to smell like my grandmother? Well, actually the first bottle was given to me on my birthday by my other grandmother ( I am very lucky to still have my two grandmothers alive and kickin’). She thought that it smelled really nice and that it suited me, little did she know that my other grandma has worn the same perfume for forever! She also thought that when a girl turns sixteen, it was the age to get some perfume for your birthday, so she got me some perfume she really liked for me.  I have never stopped wearing that perfume ever since because everywhere I went with my new perfume people told me that I smelled nice. I am 20 now and I still wear it almost every day.

Now, who is Gloria Vanderbilt? According to Wikipedia she is from America, but her father was originally from The Netherlands (yay! that’s where I am from!) She is known as an artist, designer and of course for the perfume which carries her name.  Apparently, her life was not easy and her mother did not really take care of her after her father died.

That’s it for today. Thank you for reading!

Lots of love,

SweetHandlettering

8 thoughts on “Gloria Vanderbilt

      1. I can imagine, my grandma was the one who taught me to bake buns and bread from scratch and make the most amazing “wifesaver”, or as its known in my family brunch (yes we named the food after the meal). She also taught me crocheting and knitting and is the most lovely and non-judgmental person I know.

        Liked by 2 people

  1. That is very fascinating, You are an overly skilled blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look ahead to in quest of extra of your wonderful post. Also, I’ve shared your web site in my social networks

    Like

Leave a Reply

