about SweetHandlettering · blog · kpop · music · one word prompt

Cosplay, Conventions and a Stage

Manga, anime, comics, roleplaying, cosplay and conventions. These terms usually go together.
When I was 14 or 15 years old, I found out about the anime Hetalia and later on also Black Butler (or Kuroshitsuji), together with some of my friends. We enjoyed watching episodes and dress up, or rather cosplay, our favourite characters.
We even wrote stories in little notebooks. Each of us would write a few lines or a page and then we would pass the notebook on to the next person, who would respond to the earlier written piece. We were totally hooked.

We even decided to cosplay and if you’ve been around my blog for a little longer you know that I wrote about it earlier in This post. Even though I stopped cosplaying I would still like to do it, the only thing right now is that I don’t really have the time.

I also used to enjoy going to conventions and I’ve been to a few. I’ve been to one I cannot remember the name of (so sorry!!) and I’ve been to Abunai a few times.
A few days ago, Eventbrite inspired me to write something on how I prepare for a convention. Yeah, okay I have to admit that due to my studies and other events I have not been to a cosplay convention lately. But I have been to the Harry Potter Exhibition and that was kind of the same. Nonetheless I can still tell you how I used to prepare for conventions and maybe give you some tips!
Let’s go!

My preparation always started a few weeks in advance. I prepared my cosplay and made sure I had everything that was needed for the cosplay of the character I wanted to be. Once that was done, I started to practice on how to do the makeup belonging to that character.
Of course you also have to act like that certain character so I watched as much episodes of the anime and read as much of the manga as I had time for. The writing I described earlier, also called roleplaying, also comes in handy when practicing how to be your character. With roleplaying, you pretend to be your chosen character.
Roleplaying is not, as many people thinks, all about the dirty stuff. Roleplaying can be about anything you imagine, you’re completely free.

When the convention or meet-up is a few days away I make a list of everything I need to pack or buy. I always make sure to bring enough food and drinks because being hungry is not pleasant. Having a huge sweet-tooth I always bring loads of candy, too. Usually candy like lollipops because they’re individually wrapped.
I also always bring band-aids, a packet of tissues and a bag with a few make-up items like lipstick, foundation, eyeliner and/or mascara (depending on which items are essential for your character’s look).
The night before the event I pack everything into a backpack and get my list to make sure I’ve packed everything.
I also make sure I’ve always got my ID, money, public transport card and ticket (if you need one for the event) are in there, because as long as you’ve got those items you’ll be fine.
The next thing I do on the night before the event is make a travel plan. I want to make sure I know which train to take or which bus to hop on. If you go by car, I would check if there are any obstructions on the roads you need to take. I’m sure you can also find this somewhere on the internet but since I do not own a car, I always use public transport or my bike.
Last but not least, I neatly lay out everything I need to get ready in the morning.

I also make sure to get enough sleep (if possible, I mean duh happy nerves!) and I set several alarms.
The next morning when I wake up, I simply wash up, eat breakfast and get ready to get going.
Before I leave the house I double check if I’ve got everything I need and I leave!

Now, the event itself.
The first thing I really want to tell you, more like teach you, is that every cosplayer or visitor is there for the same reason: having fun with people who like the same stuff.
No. Not everyone’s cosplay is good. No. Not everyone is skinny. No. Not everyone cosplays according to their skincolour.
No one is the same.
The keyword here is respect. Respect each other. Respect each other’s creativity and respect each other’s cosplay. Perhaps help someone get better at cosplaying if they’re open to that, I know I am.
Don’t call names, don’t starts fights or arguments or push others away when you’re waiting in line.
Everyone is there to have fun. If everyone is kind for each other, the event will remain fun.
Everyone likes something else and everyone is different.
Liking something different than you does not make the other thing/anime/manga/comic bad or less fun. Your interests are simply different and that is okay!

I think this pretty much sums is all up. If you have any question please drop them down below and I will answer them as soon as I can!

Hopefully I’ve given you something fun to read and some insight into conventions.

Thank you so much for reading and have a lovely day!

Lots of love,

SweetHandlettering

~music corner~
This time I do not really have a song to go with the theme, so I just posted a song by my favourite band SHINee. Personally, this is one of my favourite stages. Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Cosplay, Conventions and a Stage

  1. I will immediately take hold of your rss as I can’t in finding your e-mail subscription hyperlink or newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Kindly let me realize so that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

